Thursday , 19 October 2017
Breaking News
Home » United States » 4 universities get nod for independent boards

4 universities get nod for independent boards

Western Oregon University

Western Oregon University

The State Board of Higher Education endorsed institutional governing boards for Western Oregon University in Monmouth as well as Eastern Oregon University, the Oregon Institute of Technology and Southern Oregon University.

This is the same governance change that takes effect July 1 for the state’s three largest public universities — Oregon State University, the University of Oregon and Portland State University — as part of the state’s transition to a decentralized public university system, according to a news release Friday from the Oregon University System.

The four regional and technical universities currently are governed by the State Board of Higher Education.

Moving to self-governance for Oregon Tech in Klamath Falls and WOU will begin July 1, 2015, giving those campuses more than a year to prepare for institutional boards.

For Eastern Oregon in La Grande and Southern Oregon in Ashland, the board voted affirmatively but with conditions that will be determined in the next 45 days.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
4 universities get nod for independent boards, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating

About Universities News • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes