Thursday , 21 September 2017
Breaking News
Home » Sports Buzz » SA Universities squad announced

SA Universities squad announced

SA Universities Rugby team

The SA Universities squad, named on Thursday, includes players from last year’s SA Under-20 Junior World Championship-winning team and Springbok Sevens representatives.

The SA Rugby Union (Saru) announced that Chris Rossouw of Maties would coach the team in their match against Namibia in Windhoek next week, and he would be assisted by Brent Janse van Rensburg (NMMU) and David Manuel (Tuks).

The team was selected from the leading players in this year’s Varsity Cup and Varsity Shield competitions.

Only Stephan “Os” Hamman of Maties remained from the 2012 SA Universities squad that played under coach Chean Roux.

Tuks flanker Shaun Adenforff was a stalwart for the Junior Springboks during the successful Junior World Championship in Cape Town last year, while Clayton Blommetjies, Kevin Luiters, Hoffman Maritz and Ryan Nel have all played for the Springbok Sevens team.

The squad would assemble in Cape Town on Saturday, Saru said, for a week-long training camp.

SA Universities squad: Shaun Adendorff, Courtnall Skosan, Clayton Blommetjies, Mbongeni Mbonambi, Willie du Plessis, Basil Short (all University of Pretoria), Martin Ferreira, Mzwanele Zito, Timothy Agaba, Dwayne Kelly, Justin van Staden, Howard Mnisi, Roy Godfrey (NMMU), Teboho Mohoje, Kevin Luiters, Nic Schonert (University of Free State), John-Ronald Esterhuizen (University of Johannesburg), Hoffman Maritz (North West University), Alistair Vermaak, Stephan “Os” Hamman, Reniel Hugo, Ryan Nel, Helmut Lehmann (Stellenbosch University), Mthetheleli Fuzani (University of the Western Cape).

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
SA Universities squad announced, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating

About Universities News • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes